We are growing for our community

100,000 sq. ft. hospital expansion coming soon

OMC Celebrated Certified Nurses Day

OMC Celebrates Certified Nurses Day

Ozarks Medical Center (OMC) celebrated Certified Nurses Day, March 19, by honoring its board certified nurses. The following nurses are being recognized for their professionalism, leadership, and commitment to excellence in patient care: Jo Wagner, Case Management; Laura Collins, Education; Kimberly Shaw, Education; Jana Brill, Neuropsych Unit; Barb Bowles, Neuropsych Unit; Karen Painter, Neuropsych Unit; Terryl Coffel, Neuropsych Unit; Betsy Ward, Neuropsych Unit; Kista Barnard, 2 North and 2 South; Tim Kimball, Surgery; Gary Brown, Cath Lab; Christy Lowe, Cath Lab; Julie Gunter, Surgery; Terri Combs, Surgery; Amy Bunch, Surgery; BJ Richardson, ICU; Jill Fisher, ICU; Rae Jones, ICU; Christy Russell, Urology; Cathy Driscoll, OB; Mary Fine, Quality; Torry Hughes, Quality/Infection Control; Ruby Russell, Cancer Treatment Center; Jennifer Bailey, Cancer Treatment Center; Tracy Riley; Cancer Treatment Center; Ashley Romans, Cancer Treatment Center; Jami Thomas, Cancer Treatment Center; Lori Cole, Cancer Treatment Center; and Susan Kenslow, Cancer Treatment Center.

Board Certification of nurses plays an increasingly important role in the assurance of high standards of care for patients and their loved ones. Nursing, like health care in general has become increasingly complex. While a registered nurse (RN) license provides entry to general nursing practice, the knowledge-intensive requirements of modern nursing require extensive education, as well as a strong personal commitment to excellence by the nurse. The additional requirements for board certification demonstrates the commitment of those listed to their profession.

“OMC is proud to have board certified nurses on our staff. Going the extra mile to reach this certification demonstrates their commitment to providing exceptional compassionate care to all we serve,” said Tom Keller, President and CEO.

OMC encourages national board certification for all its nurses. There are many nursing certification specialties such as medical-surgical, pediatric, pain management, cardiac vascular, oncology, hospice, case management, emergency nursing, critical care and many others. Many nursing certification bodies exist to serve the full range of specialized nursing care offered in the contemporary health care system; national nurse-certifying bodies should be accredited by either the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC) or the National Organization for Competence Assurance (NOCA), or both.

Please join OMC and the nation’s national nursing certification organizations in honoring those hardworking, dedicated nurses for their professionalism, and a job well done!

Related Articles